

Wildwood, NJ

Chartered	October 3, 1926	Meets : Tuesdays at 6:30 pm at
Sponsored By Clubs Sponsored	Atlantic City Cape May	Meets : Tuesdays at 6:30 pm at Alfe's Restaurant 3400 New Jersey Ave., Wildwood, NJ 08260 (609) 729-5755

Charter Members

OFFICE	NAME OF MEMBER
President	Edwin L. Chalmers
Vice President	C. Howard Topham
Secretary	Jonathan W. Acton
Treasurer	Reuben W. Ryan
Director	George F. Carty
Director	Evans G. Slaughter
	Marshall Bainbridge, Jr.
	Leslie Samuel Caldwell
	DeWitt C. Cobb
	James S.D. Eisenhower
	Albert Geisenhoner
	Jack Konowitch
	Charles R. Page
	Lawrence J. Ponzler
	Charles W. Senn

Wildwood, NJ

Wildwood One of Oldest, Most Active Clubs in District 764

Story from a shore-area newspaper on Sept. 23, 1926: "Wildwood is to have a Rotary Club. Preliminary plans were made at a meeting held Tuesday evening at the office of J.W. Acton and election of officers took place.

"E.C. Chambers was elected president; C. Howard Topham, vice president; J.W. Acton, secretary, and R.W. Ryan, treasurer. Marshall Bainbridge was made sergeant-at-arms.

"It is the intention of the organizers to make the club a non-sectarian association."



Quigley, PDG. Between them stands Dr. Leon Mazzotta, club president. Seated, left to right, are Edwin

James Fitzgerald, A.E. Tedesco, Jack Nuss, Batten, Mazzotta, Quigley, Benjamin Ingersoll, William Kleb.

Cooper, Arne Rasmussen, Victor Verna, John Clark and Kenneth Coombs. Standing, left to right, are

Al Wilson (Past President of Woodbury Club, a recent transferee to Wildwood), and Charles Hunter.

Edwin L. Chalmers was elected the charter president in 1926-27. The club has met at at least 16 restaurants through the years beginning with the old Seville Hotel.

Highlights from Wildwood Rotary's thick scrapbook through the years: 1949--

Wildwood Rotarians assisted mightily with an operation for a 10 year-old boy, Ed Cox, with a serious eye

problem. In fact, the club paid for his operation. From the Feb. 7, 1949 club bulletin: "Johnny Clark's report on

what is being done for our young friend with the eye affliction is real evidence that we, in Wildwood, are attempting to live up to the motto of "He profits most who serves the best.

1955 -- Wildwood Rotary sponsored the Rotary Club of Cape May, which held its charter ceremonies at the Hotel Admiral. Russell Batten of Wildwood Rotary was the governor's representative.

1956 -- Russell Batten and Edwin C. Cooper were presented watches for 25 years of service to the Wildwood club.

1958 -- Sixteen past presidents of Wildwood Rotary were honored by the club at a special dinner at Valentino's Restaurant A special presentation was made to Russell Batten, who served as president in 1928-29, by Past District Governor Frank Quigley of Atlantic City Rotary.

1962 -- Wildwood Rotary forwarded to the Rotary Foundation of Rotary International a trust agreement which would designate the Foundation as recipient of the trust in event Wildwood Rotary should pass out of existence.

1965 -- During the R.I. Convention in nearby Atlantic City, Wildwood Rotarians hosted visitors from other countries including Japan and Brazil.

1974 -- The Wildwood Historical Commission made a special tribute to well-known civic activist and charter Wildwood Rotarian Edwin C. Cooper.

1983 -- This was a typical year of busy civic. commitment for Wildwood Rotary. Besides initiating their first annual "Fish `n Chips" projects, the club held scholarship and Paul Harris presentations; held at honors

Wildwood, NJ

students night; a ladies' night; an RYLA night; and a district governor's night.

Among other Wildwood events through the years has been the annual Angelo Versaggi Kids' Fishing Rodeo sponsored jointly by Rotary, the Department of Tourism, City of Wildwood, and the Borough of Wildwood Crest.

Presidents

1926-28	Edwin L. Chalmers	1959-60	Alfred J. Jackson, Jr.
1928-29	Marshall Bainbridge, Jr.	1960-61	Charles Guhr
1929-30	Russell C. Batten	1961-62	Bernard Gebhart
1930-31	James S.D. Eisenhower	1962-63	Carl F. Warner
1931-32	Cecil G. Bunnell	1963-64	William L. Kane
1932-33	E.E. Cooper	1964-65	Nels V. Warren
1933-34	Joseph F. Clark	1965-66	George B. Francis
1934-35	E.W. Kidd	1966-67	David Berman
1935-36	Lawrence E. Rudisill	1967-68	Edward Smith
1936-37	G. William Merrick	1968-69	William L. Dry
1937-38	Walter S. Koons	1969-70	Robert Platt
1938-39	Kaj T. Johansen	1970-71	Stephen Rubins
1939-40	Kenneth Groce	1971-72	Carmen Alameno
1940-41	Herman Guhlick	1972-73	Robert J. Hendrickson
1941-42	Alexander L. Berkeley	1973-74	Anthony Aneroid
1942-43	Albert S. Bailee	1974-75	Arthur C. Schad
1943-44	Anthony J. Caffer	1975-76	Leonard M. Henderson
1944-45	Arne E. Rasmussen	1976-77	John F. Weisl
1945-46	Victor E. Verna	1977-78	Martin Rosenfeld
1946-47	Hubert C. Mangano	1978-79	John Pantalone
1947-48	John F. Clarke	1979-80	Benjamin Ingersoll
1948-49	Harry L. Hassle	1980-81	Saul Cohen
1949-50	Angelo Versaggi	1981-82	Joseph A. Furey
1950-51	Kenneth S. Coombs	1982-83	William Osborn
1951-52	James W. Fitzgerald	1983-84	Paul J. Wenzel
1952-53	A. Edward ReDecso	1984-85	David Van Savage
1953-54	John J. Nuss	1985-86	Edward V. Deane
1954-55	Benjamin C. Ingersoll, III	1985-86	(Moved) Ernie MacIlwath
1955-56	James E. Humphreys	1986-87	Bernard Goldinger
1956-57	William J. Kleb	1987-88	John V. Collings
1957-58	Charles Hunter	1988-89	Peter Gallaccio
1958-59	Leon M. Mazzotta	1989-90	William Osborn